Projects
Nunavut Broadband Task Force

Sivumuuqpallianiq, Moving Forward: strengthening our self-reliance in the information age

Le Nunavut Broadband Task Force (Groupe de travail sur la large bande au Nunavut) fut créé en février 2001 par le ministère du Développement durable du Nunavut. Le groupe de travail a publié une série de recommandations pour orienter le développement de la large bande au Nunavut. Il était formé de représentants du secteur privé, d’organisations non gouvernementales et du gouvernement du Nunavut.

L’objectif principal de ce groupe de travail était de fournir des conseils et des recommandations sur les questions relatives à la large bande au Nunavut et d’aider à la préparation de rapports et de réponses destinés au groupe de travail national sur la large bande qui avait été mis sur pied par le gouvernement fédéral en octobre 2000.

Le groupe de travail s’est réuni à plusieurs reprises en 2001, sous la direction de son président Ed McKenna, du ministère du Développement durable. Ce groupe s’est penché sur de nombreux sujets allant du potentiel d’autonomisation locale qu’offrait la large bande, à son impact sur la culture, les occasions d’affaires, l’éducation et la santé. Les membres du groupe de travail ont présenté 25 recommandations pour une mise en œuvre réussie de la large bande au Nunavut.

Les recommandations du groupe de travail sont incluses dans le rapport final publié en 2002 et intitulé, Sivumuuqpallianiq, Moving Forward: strengthening our self-reliance in the information age. Le rapport a servi à orienter le travail de la Nunavut Broadband Development Corporation et à en déterminer le mandat.

Le ministère du Développement durable du Nunavut fut le principal bailleur de fonds du groupe de travail.

Projects
Nunavut Broadband Task Force

Sivumuuqpallianiq, Moving Forward: strengthening our self-reliance in the information age

The Nunavut Broadband Task Force was created by the Government of Nunavut’s Department of Sustainable Development in February 2001. The Task Force produced a series of recommendations to guide broadband development in Nunavut, and included members from the private sector, non-governmental organizations, and the Government of Nunavut.

The main objective of the Task Force was to provide advice and recommendations on broadband issues affecting Nunavut, and to assist in the preparation of reports and responses to the National Broadband Task Force, which had been established by the federal government in October 2000.

The Task Force met multiple times during 2001, led by Chairperson Ed McKenna of the Department of Sustainable Development, covering topics ranging from broadband’s potential for local empowerment, to impact on culture, economic opportunities, health and education. Members of the Task Force created 25 recommendations for the successful implementation of broadband in Nunavut.

The Task Force recommendations are included in the Final Report of the Task Force published in 2002, entitled Sivumuuqpallianiq, Moving Forward: strengthening our self-reliance in the information age. The report provided guidance for the Nunavut Broadband Development Corporation and its resulting mandate.

The Department of Sustainable Development, Government of Nunavut, was a key funder of the Task Force.